Francis P. Mulvey to head Surface
Transportation Board

President Obama named Francis Mulvey as acting chairman of the Surface Transportation Board (STB), elevating the sole Democratic commissioner from the vice chairman post. The choice of chair is the president’s prerogative and is not subject to Senate confirmation. The previous chairman, Charles “Chip” Nottingham, had earlier said he would resign from the STB if he was no longer chair. Nottingham has now confirmed that he will remain as a commissioner with the STB until his term concludes in 2010. The third STB member, Douglas Buttrey, retired from the board on March 13. President Obama has yet to name Buttrey’s replacement.

The Surface Transportation Board is the federal government agency charged with overseeing railroad rate and service disputes and reviewing railroad mergers. The organization is governed by a three member board – appointed by the President and confirmed by the Senate – each with a five-year term of office.

Source: Journal of Commerce


The Soy Transportation Coalition is comprised of seven state soybean boards, the American Soybean Association, and the United Soybean Board. The National Grain and Feed Association and the National Oilseed Processors Association serve as ex-officio members of the organization.