eNews • June 9, 2015
Promoting a Cost-Effective, Reliable and Competitive Transportation System

Nebraska lawmakers override veto of gas tax increase

Nebraska motorists will pay higher taxes at the gas pump to pay for road and bridge repairs, despite Gov. Pete Ricketts' objections. Lawmakers on May 14 overrode the Republican governor's veto of a 6-cent-per-gallon gas tax increase.

The proposal would raise Nebraska's total gas tax over four years to 31.6 cents per gallon. The tax would generate an additional $25 million annually for the state and $51 million for cities and counties once fully implemented.

Sen. Jim Smith of Papillion, the bill's sponsor, says the gas tax is the most effective way to pay for construction work to help improve road safety and the economy.

Ricketts, a Republican, has said his new state roads director is planning to look at funding alternatives.

Ricketts issued the following statement:

"The Legislature's decision to raise the gas tax hurts hardworking Nebraskans who can least afford a tax hike. When I travel the state, Nebraskans tell me that they need tax relief, not tax increases. Our state already has the 13th-highest property taxes, the 15th-highest income taxes, and this tax hike makes our gas tax rate the 16th-highest in the nation. This tax increase will not only hurt Nebraska's hardworking families, but it will only make it more difficult to grow Nebraska because of our state's burdensome tax climate."

Source: KETV 7

The Soy Transportation Coalition is comprised of thirteen state soybean boards, the American Soybean Association, and the United Soybean Board. The National Grain and Feed Association and the National Oilseed Processors Association serve as ex-officio members of the organization.

Soy Transportation Coalition
1255 SW Prairie Trail Pkwy., Ankeny, Iowa 50023
Phone: (515) 727-0665 Fax (515) 251-8657
Email msteenhoek@soytransportation.org
Web www.soytransportation.org

Funded by the Soybean Checkoff