eNews • October 13, 2017
Promoting a Cost-Effective, Reliable and Competitive Transportation System

Former Chair Elliott to leave STB

Surface Transportation Board (STB) Vice Chairman Daniel Elliott III announced he will leave the board.

Elliott, who was appointed chairman by former President Barack Obama and joined the board in August 2009, informed President Donald Trump of his plans in a letter, according to an STB press release.

Elliott served as STB chairman until Dec. 31, 2014, and returned for a second term on June 26, 2015. He served as chairman until Jan. 25, 2017, when Trump designated Ann Begeman as acting chairwoman.

"My tenure as chairman and vice chairman of the agency has brought both rewards and challenges, but most of all an appreciation for the sophisticated rail transportation industry and its shippers that serve as the backbone of our nation's economy," said Elliott.

He also noted the many changes that occurred during his board tenure, from new regulatory proposals to becoming an independent agency from the U.S. Department of Transportation.

"But one thing has remained constant, and that is the distinguished group of professionals and good people at the agency that I have had the privilege of working with for the last eight years," Elliott added.

"During the six years that I have worked with Dan, I have always appreciated his genuine dedication and commitment to the board's work and to the transportation community - both shippers and railroads alike," said Begeman. "I particularly admire the respectful manner by which Dan treats everyone he meets. I will miss having Dan as a colleague, but wish him much success as he enters the next new phase of his career."

STB member Deb Miller also expressed appreciation for Elliott's service.

"When I first came to the board, the agency was in the midst of several difficult issues and as the chairman at the time, Dan helped me quickly transition into my new role," Miller said. "Since then, the board has undertaken a number of important regulatory initiatives in which he was instrumental.

Source: Progressive Railroading

The Soy Transportation Coalition is comprised of thirteen state soybean boards, the American Soybean Association, and the United Soybean Board. The National Grain and Feed Association and the National Oilseed Processors Association serve as ex-officio members of the organization.

Soy Transportation Coalition
1255 SW Prairie Trail Pkwy., Ankeny, Iowa 50023
Phone: (515) 727-0665 Fax (515) 251-8657
Email msteenhoek@soytransportation.org
Web www.soytransportation.org

Funded by the Soybean Checkoff